Fresh Off The Boat

These days I have been spending a lot of time on the ferry.

I am on the look out for a university teaching position (good luck to me), but in the mean time, I am continuing my love affair with clothes, through a long distance relationship with Plum Clothing in White Rock. This has me crossing the Salish Sea on a regular basis for work and carefully considering how to look fashion savvy for six days while only bringing one bag. The solution…three pairs of differing height shoes for my tired working feet, three rollable dresses, my white yoga jeans and several shirts that can be worn with or without creases depending on the look. Add as many belts and bracelets as I could find in my wardrobe and I think I should be fine. A modern day gypsy pirate.

In fact, the combination of cabin boy and gypsy dancer, seems to be a go to for me. These characters make their way into my art work, my computer files and my own persona…the traveller is in there somewhere and won’t be put to rest. Perhaps it is the homelessness of immigrant life. Well, not home-lessness, more home-moreness. I now have so many homes that it is difficult to know which I’m talking about. Each one needs an introduction…my birth home, my parents home, my current home etc. and perhaps each one also needs a costume.

I have been accused of having a schizophrenic relationship to place.

It seems that more and more of us do.

And so, in honour of the gypsy pirate in us all, here are some images of the ultimate traveller, the gypsy Esmerelda, and how she has been worn by actors in many times and many places.

<;/a

20120706-195621.jpg

20120706-195629.jpg

20120706-195636.jpg

20120706-195645.jpg

20120706-195653.jpg

20120706-195705.jpg

20120706-195714.jpg

Leave a Reply

