The Art Olympics

# of applications sent this week – 1 (Mostyn Open 18)
# of acceptance letters received – none but my address just changed
# of rejection letters received – none (see above)
# of hours in studio – does unpacking boxes count?
# of boxes unpacked – a trillion
# of boxes left to unpack – a trillion more
# of hours spent procrastinating by watching the Olympics – too many

Well it has been a crazy week of packing and unpacking. I am now at the point where I have unpacked everything that we need to live, but I still have a room full of boxes left to unpack. Of course that room is the long promised studio, and instead of working towards having it free to work in, I have been caught up in watching the Olympics.

I have never been into sports. As a spindly child with no hand/eye co-ordination (other than when it comes to putting pencil to paper) I just wasn’t made to have balls thrown towards my face. After treacherous years of netball and field hockey, I was glad to leave school and those memories behind, rather than relive them through a television screen. That was until I met my husband and was introduced to ice hockey. After 11 years of being with him, I am totally hooked to living vicariously through the players, and enjoying the excitement, rivalry, violence and fandom that I would never dream of wanting for myself.

And so, with the Olympics on and my two homes competing in many events, the sports supporter in me has crept out once again. I am sitting inside on beautiful days and cheering loudly to myself. Despite my doubts about the use of funds for these flashy events, I am enthralled. My mind screams “but what about the art?” but the sports win as they usually do. I mean, what would an Art Olympics look like? We could have a thinking competition in which the person who can stare at the wall the longest would win. Or for the painters, a canvas stretching contest with a trampoline element to prove whose canvas is pulled the tightest. Or how about a prize for the most wine drunk without getting rowdy? The visual arts are important but we’re just not very entertaining.

Of course I think that major league players are overpaid. I definitely believe that the arts are underfunded. I know that our role in society is necessary and under appreciated. But if we are lucky we are given the right to slow down, to observe and to make change. If I get to do this, while everyone else is out running the race, then that will be prize enough for me.

20120731-153757.jpg

Leave a Reply

