A Photograph

20130326-193954.jpg

I am on the ferry from Vancouver Island to the mainland again.
As usual this journey gives me time to muse about distances travelled, as I sit and ponder my decision to live on an island. An island that cannot provide me with the work opportunities I would like.

As you may have been able to tell from my last post, I love living on an island. Especially this one.
Part of this love is the ability to be apart from society in a relatively short amount of time. In a short drive I can be in a place that gives me the space to imagine.

The photograph above was taken at Long Beach on my recent trip to Tofino on Vancouver Island. The container, like me, has travelled a long distance from its place of creation. Whether swept across the Pacific by the tides after the tsunami in Japan, or dropped from a fishing vessel in international waters, or carried by a tourist who has travelled by plane and boat and road to see this place, it is an object out of place on a remote beach in North America. It is apart from the society that produced it.

Coming across this small, green container on the beach I wondered what it would have been like to find an object from another land before we knew where these other lands were. Strange detritus must have been sweeping up on these shores for as long as there was someone to find them, especially in rough weather. A strange shaped stone or a differently carved piece of wood. Seeing this object set my mind on a journey, even though I am aware of the places it may have come from. What stories would have emerged if there was no obvious answer?
I wonder and wander.

Leave a Reply

