Contemplating a Crazy Couple (of weeks)

It has been a crazy couple of weeks for this crazy couple (I mean the hubby and me).

Going to the mainland for a week of work is always a little nuts, even more so when I bring back my fabulously crazy seven year old niece to stay. Her name is Danae and this was her first trip away from home for more than a night or two. We had a ton of fun, as me and my hubby goofed around on the beach, at the raptor centre and in the fields with her. She was fascinated with my art studio and spent the first evening sitting at my work table making drawings for each of us with my art pencils. I remember the awe at grown up art supplies and I love to see her excitement at getting to use them. My hubby on the other hand, had her out on the lake fishing with him and they brought back a smallmouth bass that she caught. We ate it for supper which made her totally giddy!

20130715-092534.jpg
After getting a brief summer cold, that dried my nose up like a mud hole in the dessert, and sending my niece, sister and nephew home on the ferry, this crazy couple spent the last two days as festival goers. Rock The Shores Festival happens in July on our southern point of Vancouver Island and it was a ton of fun. Favourite acts for us were The Sheepdogs, Matthew Good Band, Awol Nation, Mother Mother and Sam Roberts with a surprise favourite added on for ReignWolf who put on an awesome set.
The sun shone the whole weekend and Day Two was just perfect!
Cider was drunk. Pizza was consumed. Bodies were bounced. Ears were abused!

20130715-093436.jpg

20130715-093459.jpg
On a more artistic note, I also got a reply that a piece of my work has been accepted into the Painting On The Edge Exhibition at Federation Gallery this year. I haven’t applied to them for a while but I figured it would be a good time to get the work back out there and I will be included in their group exhibition in August! Yay!

All in all my summer is going pretty well. Now I have to get back to work on my crochet before the Rock, Paper, Scissors show is here and I have nothing to put up!

Thanks for reading xx

Leave a Reply

