The Incubator

Black and Yellow Gallery is a pop-up art venture in Vancouver. Next week they are hosting an event called The Incubator, dedicated to the female voice and I will be one of the artists in their exhibition ‘#GIRLONGIRL’.

20140501-153146.jpg

I have been keeping myself busy making a new work for this exhibition. The piece I have made has grown out of an interest in the history of feminist art as well as from the images and thoughts I collected on my recent residency in Wales. While sifting through the images of my trip, I found that I had taken several pictures of political posters and suffragette memorabilia currently held in museums. I have been looking at these while making my new shawl piece.

20140501-154516.jpg

The work will be up from Monday through to Sunday next week with a reception on Friday evening.

Leave a Reply

