Summer Reads

DSC01771

What am I reading this summer? Well it’s certainly not anything light and airy but hopefully I will get to sit on the beach to do it!

A Fair Country: Telling The Truths About Canada by John Ralston Saul

I’m reading this one after digging into a few novels by Joseph Boyden and seeing his review on the back of the book. The book has been on my shelf for a while but I feel that now is the time to read it. I am preparing to apply for my Canadian Citizenship and this is an interesting point of view on the development of Canada and Canadian thought.

“If we misrepresent what we are, we cannot think about ourselves in a useful way. What is a useful reflection of self? One that creates the context and the self-confidence for further reflection and action.”

The Textile Reader edited by Jessica Hemmings

A yummy book full of theory, literature and historical essays all about Textiles

“on a spinning wheel the point at which the yarn emerges fully formed is called the orifice. Text and textile share common association through the Latin texere, to weave. These fragile references suggest for textiles a kind of speaking and for language a form of making.” (Victoria Mitchell, Textiles, text and techne)

The Crossing by Cormac McCarthy

I am quite honestly struggling my way through this one. I like the author but I haven’t taken a liking to any of the characters and found the wolf from the first quarter of the book to be the most interesting part. I like to read in chapters, giving me time to digest what I have read, but this novel doesn’t have any and so I have to choose when to break off reading. Often this happens at strange times in the plot which throws me off. I’m determined to finish it though so wish me luck.

“He could see their almond eyes in the moonlight. He could hear their breath. He could feel the presence of their knowing that was electric in the air.”

Landscape and Memory by Simon Schama

A section of this book was used in a class for which I was a teaching assistant. I found a copy at the used book store and have been reading it a bit at a time. There are some lovely insights into our relationship to place and land.

“The headstones that had been lovingly cut and carved were losing any sign that human hands had wrought them. They were becoming a geological layer”

Leave a Reply

