From The Assembly

Last week I attended A Handmade Assembly, an annual event hosted by Struts and Faucet Gallery and the Owens Art Gallery of Mount Allison University in Sackville, New Brunswick. This event brings together artists concerned with all things handmade to discuss the implications of their work in a broader art scene, learn from each other through artist talks and workshops and have some community fun. I was honoured to be selected to speak at this event and blown away by the kindness and richness of the community (and by the wind on a couple of days).

In speaking only about my works with string, I was able to finally define this side of my practice. Textiles are pretty and tangible and materially intriguing and so my works with them sometimes take focus but it is the work with string that has kept my own mind actively engaged. It is a mode of working I didn’t foresee coming into my life and that I have, at times, had difficulty articulating. It was wonderful speaking with others whose works embraced the ephemeral and time/place-based side of making.

I have a few pics from the Assembly that I wish to share. I didn’t take as many as I intended because once the conversation and learning began I was fully immersed. Some days ran from 9am to 11pm between all of the events and informal gatherings around a drink so it was pretty tiring but very rewarding. I have no doubt my path will cross with many of these fabulous makers again.

Thanks to Amanda Fauteux and all the crew at Struts and the Owens. You all work amazingly hard and make us so welcome. Also to Liss and Claudia of Shake-n-Make for sharing the residency living space with me and making some fabulous food.

I am really hoping to get back there sometime soon!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

